Lasallian Scholars Rise to Gold in the World Scholar’s Cup

by Sean Carballo

Scholars from The Lazette, Club Rhetorique and the Student Affairs Cental Body (SACB) celebrate their first victory as they have bagged several awards in the recently-concluded World Scholar’s Cup Manila Round held at Xavier School last July 9 and 10.

It was a weekend full of fun and challenges wherein our teams battled it in Collaborative Writing, Team Debate, Scholar’s Challenge, and Scholar’s Bowl against the eight participating schools, which included Saint Pedro Poveda College, Grace Christian College, and Miriam College High School.

Scholars posing for a victory photo after the awarding ceremonies | Credits to Jacob Reyes

Major winners included First Place championship trophies for Junior Medalist Top Writing Team (Jasper Ryan Buan, Reinier Navarro, and Joaquin Torres) and Senior Medalist Top Debate Team (Neal Amandus Gellaco, Justin Guda, and Joshua Nathaniel Gabriel).

Justin Guda was chosen to represent LSGH in the Debate Showcase. He was with the affirmative team composed of fellow best debaters from other schools, for the motion “The Philippines is becoming more imperfect.”

The whole event aimed to foster teamwork, critical thinking, and argumentative competence amongst the members of a team. All of these were tied together by the unifying theme, “An Imperfect World,” with the topics focused on crime and justice, disease, cheating, and failed states.

The following teams qualified for the Global Round in 2017:


Team 108 :

  • Jasper Ryan Buan, 10-H
  • Reinier Navarro, 9-G
  • Joaquin Torres, 9-A

Team 109

  • Thaddeus Broto
  • Inigo De Leon


Team 161

  • Jose Antonio Carballo, 11-G
  • Joshua Salarza, 12-D
  • Jacob Reyes, 11-F

Team 162

  • Aemoh Mario Jordan, 10-D
  • Pio Miguel Cruz, 11-E
  • Julio Gerardo Villegas, 11-C

Team 163

  • Zhangyi Fan, 12-A
  • Ethan John Floro
  • Jose Emmanuel Paz

Team 164

  • Neal Amandus Gellaco, 12-A
  • Justin Guda, 12-A
  • Joshua Nathaniel Gabriel

Team 165

  • Jose Emilio Morada
  • Hugo Catan
  • Ryle Matthew Rellosa

Team 166

  • Joaquin Rafael Uyguanco, 11-I
  • Lance Giggio Aquino, 11-C
  • Kevin Brian Tan

Team 167

  • Ritch Jeremiah Traballo, 11-I
  • Rio Emmanuel Santiago, 11-C
  • Marque Callanta, 11-B

The complete list of winners can be accessed through:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s